Search This Blog

Thursday, December 15, 2016

Axxen Conners - Nowhere to Escape Sins EP

Artist: Axxen Conners
Release Title: Nowhere to Escape Sins EP
Year: 2016
Label: Self-Released/Independent
Genre: Melodic/Progressive Death Metal
1. Behind the Walls of the Primal Existence
2. Creator Became Absolute
3. Cursed Messiah for a Doomed Society

Formed just in 2015, Turkish death metal duo Axxen Conners have come together quite quickly with the intent of meshing their stylistic progressive and melodic influences into a charging death metal unit exploring these elements. Quickly wasting no time to getting their first work out, the groups’ debut EP was originally self-released August 14, 2016.

For the most part, the album demonstrates a great deal of influence from both the melodic and progressive realms that carry a large weight throughout here. The riff-work here is a great variation of the two, with the main patterns utilizing challenging, twisted groove-styled rhythms full of melodic accents, which is basically the entire gamut of material here as the music is simply differentiated through either a mid-tempo chug or a swirling up-tempo charge that utilizes more melodic tendencies. Given that there’s not a whole lot else going on throughout here as the material is straightforward and doesn’t really vary or differentiate itself from these elements here with only three tracks to gather their style, so however well-performed this material actually is, the fact that there’s so few material here is what really holds this back.

Without a whole lot of material to really get into here that doesn’t really offer much variation anyway, there’s quite a few flaws here that do bring down the film’s positives enough that this one really seems to appeal only to those that appreciate the simplistic nature of the material more than the actual quality of what’s on display.

Score: 65/100

Does it sound good? Order it from here:

No comments:

Post a Comment